News  |  Careers  |  Resources  |  Contact Us
KWEA on Facebook KWEA on Twitter KWEA on LinkedIn

William D. Hatfield Award

The William D. Hatfield Award recognizes outstanding treatment plant operators. It was established by the Water Pollution Control Federation of 1946, and now honors each year exceptional operators of wastewater treatment works throughout the world.

This award is named appropriately for William D. Hatfield, 19th president of the WPCF and the long time "operator" of the Decatur, Illinois, Sanitary District Wastewater Treatment Plant. The Kansas Water Environment Association may name an outstanding Kansas operator to be honored with this award every year.

Past Recipients of This Prestigious Award
2019 Heather Phillips 1995 John Booton
2018 Gerald Grant 1994 Wayne Nelson
2017 Dustin Coles 1993 Jerry Davies
2016 Richard Jones 1992 Millie Reed
2015 Brian Bradshaw 1991 John Gavin
2014 Ed Bonham 1990 Bob Sample
2013 Charlie Suchy 1989 James Tush
2012 Jason Patty 1988 Bruce Fortner
2011 Clint Gregor 1987 Mike Younger
2010 Bill Johnson 1986 Raymond Stillwell
2009 Joe Foster 1985 Harry Zielke
2008 Jim Larkin 1984 Max Rhodd
2007 Richard Cook 1983 Alan Shineman
2006 David Harper 1981 Thomas E. McMahon
2005 Mike Wagner 1980 Duane Morgan
2004 Mark Eisenbarth 1978 Doyle Webster
2003 Eddie Andrews 1977 Myron Caliteaux
2002 David Schmidgt 1975 James Bills
2001 Ben Looney 1972 Don Vaughn
2000 Steve Gorszczyk 1969 Irl E. Wall, Jr.
1999 Randy Storrer 1966 John Glidewell, Jr.
1998 Alice Ballard 1964 Wilbur K. Moffat
1997 Steve Kubler 1961 Victor W. Pickering
1996 Steve Leiker 1958 Lyle Cunningham

Our Sponsors