Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award

The Water Environment Federation Board of Directors established this award in 1993 to recognize individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession.

KWEA may name an outstanding laboratory analyst to be honored with this award every year.


  • Must be a member of the Water Environment Federation.
  • Candidate must be employed at an educational facility laboratory, industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory which performs wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical responsibilities.
  • Candidates are eligible for this award only once.
  • Qualifying criteria may include:
  • Membership and involvement in professional associations. Examples: Water Environment Federation Committees, Standard Methods Joint Task Groups, MA committees and conferences and conference activities.
  • Outstanding efforts in the area of wastewater and environmental aquatic analysis, including such items as innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment, analytical or environmental problem.
  • Involvement in community activities or public relations.
  • Presentations at professional conferences, meetings, etc. relevant to water quality analysis.
  • Professional certifications.
  • Continuing education.
  • Contributions that have been beneficial to the nominees facility.
  • Unusual initiative or performance "beyond the call of duty.


Nominations are accepted from KWEA members. Members should submit a one-page biography of their selection and reasons why they feel the person is deserving of this prestigious award.

Please submit the nomination no later that September 30, of the year. The nomination is to be mailed or emailed to the Secretary-Treasurer of the Kansas Water Environment Association. The nominations will be reviewed and a selection will be made by the KWEA Laboratory Analyst Awards Selection Committee. The KWEA Laboratory Analyst Awards Selection Committee will report its nominee to KWEA Secretary-Treasurer by December 1 of the year so that the nomination can be submitted to the WEF no later that four (4) months prior to the KWEA annual conference.

Submit a Nomination Online

Selection Committee

The KWEA Laboratory Analyst Selection Committee consists of the last three recipients of the award. The most senior of the last recipients is the Chairperson of the Committee.

Past Recipients of This Prestigious Award
2022 David Moon 2007 Becky Roeckers
2021 Elena Khoury 2006 Michael Bader
2019 Dan Laneville 2005 Tammy Bailey
2018 Ron McClure 2004 Dale South
2017 Jeff Graham 2003 Brent Lumbart
2016 Jason Patty 2002 Peggy Pearman
2015 April Batt 2001 Tommy Bowman
2014 Heath Horyna 2000 Jane Henry
2013 Aurora Shields 1999 Sok Ping Lee
2012 Duane McAllister 1998 Carolyn Woodhead
2011 Karla Pierce 1997 Scott Craig
2010 Tori Koester 1996 Mark Eisenbarth
2009 Dave Murray 1995 Rod Philo
2008 Cathy Ryder 1994 Kathy Windham